RandoCartes — location tracking
You can create your own trail files by recording your walks as you move. To do this, select Start tracking in the main menu. If it is greyed, it means that either your GPS system is not on, or that it has not yet found your position.
You will be asked to confirm your action:
![]()
If you reply no, no further action will be taken. If you reply yes, all your movements will be saved and displayed as a yellow line on the map:
![]()
Tracking
During recording the current details of your walk will be displayed at the bottom of the screen:
Time since the start of trail recording.
Total distance covered since start of recording.
The current distance from the starting point.
The current difference in altitude from the starting point.
When you wish to stop or pause tracking, select Tracking control in the menu:
![]()
Here you have several options:
Save trail — a name will be proposed for the trail. You can modify it if you wish, then select Save — the trail will be removed from the map, but you can find it again under the Trails menu.
Pause — if you select pause, recording mode will stay active, but no new points will be added to the trail. The values at the bottom of the screen will continue to update, apart from the total distance covered which will remain at the current value. When you wish to resume recording select Tracking control again to resume recording.
Abandon — if you select this button trail recording will be stopped and no trace of the current trail will be kept. You will be asked to confirm the action since all information for the trail will be lost.
If you click on the cross in the top right corner of the popup, the popup will be closed and the current state of the application will not be modified.
On the settings page you can configure an action for when you arrive back at your starting position during tracking.
Pause mode
You can tell when tracking is paused because the icon bar at the bottom of the screen is pink instead of brown.
If you select Tracking control in the menu when tracking is paused, the popup will be slightly different:
![]()
Here all buttons worked as previously described, except you now have a Resume button. This button allows you to continue recording the trail as before.
If you moved your position between pausing the recording and resuming it, the distance between the two points will be shown as a dashed line on the map, and this distance will not be included in the trail statistics.
On the settings page you can configure an action for when you leave the position at which you paused tracking.


